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TOP
TEN MORTGAGE MISTAKES
| Buying your home |
| Refinancing
your home |
| Getting a home equity credit line |
If you're like most people, buying a home is
the biggest investment you'll ever make. Annual mortgage, taxes and insurance
costs can range from 25% to 40% of your gross annual income. By visiting this
reference page, you're on your way to protecting yourself, and making the
home-buying process easier by becoming an informed consumer. Read, talk to
family, friends and real estate professionals. You'll be glad you took
the time to understand the process.
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Looking for a home without being
pre-approved.
Pre-approval and pre-qualification are two
different things. During the pre-qualification process, a loan
officer asks you a few questions, then hands you a "pre-qualification"
letter. The pre-approval process is much more thorough.
During the pre-approval process, the mortgage
company does virtually all the work associated with obtaining
full-approval. Since there is no property yet identified to
purchase, however, an appraisal and title search aren't conducted.
When you're pre-approved, you have much more
negotiating clout with the seller. The seller knows you can close
the transaction because a lender has carefully reviewed your income,
assets, credit and other relevant information. In some cases
(multiple offers, for example), being pre-approved can make the difference
between buying and not buying a home. Also, you can save thousands
of dollars as a result of being in a better negotiating situation.
Most good RealtorsŪ will not show you homes until
you are pre-approved. They don't want to waste your, their, or the
seller's time.
Many mortgage companies will help you become
pre-approved at little or no cost. They'll usually need to check
your credit and verify your income and assets.
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Making verbal (oral) agreements!
If an agent tries to make you sign a written
document that is contrary to their verbal commitments, don't do it! For
example, if the agent says the washer will come with the home, but the
contract says it will not--the written contract will override the verbal
contract. In fact, written contracts almost always override verbal
contracts. When buying or selling real estate, abide by this maxim:
Get it in writing!
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Choosing a lender because they have the
lowest rate. Not getting a written good-faith estimate.
While rate is important, you have to consider the
overall cost of your loan. Pay close attention to the APR, loan fees,
discount and origination points. Some lenders include discount and
origination points in their quoted points. Other lenders may only
quote discount points, when in fact there is an additional origination
point (or fraction of a point).
This difference in the way points are sometime
quoted is important to you. One lender will quote all points, while
another lender may disclose an extra point, or fraction thereof, at a
later time--an unwelcome surprise.
Within 3 working days after receipt of your
completed loan application, your mortgage company is required to provide
you with a written good-faith estimate of closing costs. You may want
to consider requesting a GFE from a few lenders before submitting your
application. With a few GFEs to compare, you can get a feel for
which lenders are more thorough, and you can educate yourself regarding the
costs associated with your transaction. The GFE with the highest
costs may not indicate that a particular lender is more expensive than
another--in fact, they may be more diligent in itemizing all fees.
The cost of the mortgage, however, shouldn't be
your only criteria. There is no substitute for asking family and
friends for referrals and for interviewing prospective mortgage companies.
You must also feel comfortable that the loan officer you are dealing
with is committed to your best interests and will deliver what they
promise.
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Choosing a lender because they are
recommended by your RealtorŪ.
Your Realtor is not a financial expert. He
or she may not know which loan is best for you. Your RealtorŪ gets
a commission only when your transaction closes. As a result, the
RealtorŪ may refer you to a lender who will close your loan, but who may
not have the best rates or fees. Also, many RealtorsŪ refer you to
one of their friends in the loan business--who also may not have the best
rates or fees. Although most RealtorsŪ are professional and concerned
about your best interests, you should do your own homework.
We recommend shopping for a loan with at least
three mortgage companies before you make a decision. There are
countless stories of consumers who ended up paying higher rates, or got a
loan that wasn't right for them, because they blindly followed their
Realtor'sŪ advice.
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Not getting a rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company tells you they have locked
your rate, get a written statement detailing the interest rate, the length
of the rate lock, and other particulars about the program.
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Using a dual agent (an agent who
represents the buyer and seller in the same transaction).
Buyers and sellers have opposing interests. Sellers
want to receive the highest price, buyers want to pay the lowest price.
In most situations, dual agents cannot be fair to both buyer and
seller. Since the seller usually pays the commission, the dual agent
may negotiate harder for the seller than for the buyer. If you are a
buyer, it is usually better to have your own agent represent you.
The only time you should consider using a dual
agent, is when you can get a price break (usually resulting from the dual
agent lowering their commission). In that case, proceed cautiously
and do your homework!
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Buying a home without professional
inspections. Taking the seller's word that repairs have been made.
Unless you're buying a new home with warranties on
most equipment, it is highly recommended that you get property, roof and
termite inspections. These reports will give you a better picture of
what you're buying. Inspection reports are great negotiating tools
when it comes to asking the seller to make repairs. If a
professional home inspector states that certain repairs need to be made,
the seller is more likely to agree to making them.
If the seller agrees to make repairs, have your
inspector verify the completed work prior to close of escrow. Do not
assume that everything will be done as promised.
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Not shopping for home insurance until
you are ready to close.
Start shopping for insurance as soon as you have
an accepted offer. Many buyers wait until the last minute to get
insurance and find they have no time left to shop around.
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Signing documents without reading them.
Do not sign documents in a hurry. As soon as
possible, review the documents you'll be signing at close of
escrow--including a copy of all loan documents. This way, you can
review them and get your questions answered in a timely manner. Do
not expect to read all the documents during the closing. There is rarely
enough time to do that.
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Making moving plans that don't work.
You expect to move out of your current residence
on Friday and into your new residence over the weekend. Also on
Friday, your lease terminates and the movers are scheduled to appear.
Friday morning arrives: bags packed, boxes
stacked, children under arm and the dog on a leash; you're sitting on your
front door stoop awaiting the arrival of the movers.
Your phone rings. Your loan closing is
delayed until the following Tuesday. The new tenants turn into your
driveway with a weighted-down U-Haul and the movers pull up across the
street.
You ask yourself, "Where's the nearest Motel
6 and storage facility? How much will the movers charge for an extra
trip? Can we afford it?"
How can you avoid such a disaster? Cancel
your lease and ask the movers to show up five to seven days after you
anticipate closing your transaction. Consider the extra expense an
insurance policy. You're buying peace of mind--and protecting
yourself from expensive delays.
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Refinancing with your current lender
without shopping around.
Your current lender may not have the best rates
and programs.
Believing it's easier to work with your current
lender is a common misconception. In most cases, they'll require the
same documentation as other lenders and mortgage brokers. This is
because most loans are sold on the secondary market and have to be
approved independently. Even if you've been good at making payments
to your existing lender, they'll still have to process the verifications
all over again.
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Not doing a break-even analysis.
Determine the total transaction costs and how much
you'll save each month by lowering your monthly mortgage payment. Divide
the transaction costs by the monthly savings to determine the number of
months you'll have to stay in the property to recoup your refinancing
costs.
For example, if the costs of refinancing total
$2000, and you save $50 per month, you break-even in 2000/50 = 40
months. In this case, you should only refinance if you plan to stay
in the home for at least 40 months.
Note: The above example is suited to comparing two similar loans
when the intent is to lower your monthly payment and recoup transaction
costs relatively quickly. Other refinancing transactions require
different kinds of analyses which are beyond the scope of this document.
Other types of refinancing transactions include exchanging a fixed
rate for an ARM, or a 30 year mortgage for a 15 year mortgage.
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Not getting a written good-faith
estimate of closing costs.
Within 3 working days after receipt of your
completed loan application, your mortgage company is required to provide
you with a written good-faith estimate of closing costs.
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Paying for a home appraisal when you
think the appraised value may be too low.
Have the appraisal company conduct a desk-review
appraisal (typically at no charge) and provide you with a range of
possible values. Your mortgage company can ask an appraiser to do
this for you.
Do not waste your money on a complete appraisal if
you believe the home is unreasonably priced.
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Using the county tax assessor's value
as the market value of your home.
Mortgage companies do not use the county tax
assessor's value to help determine if they'll originate your loan. They,
like real estate agents, usually use the sales comparison approach
(formerly known as the market data comparison approach).
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Signing documents without reading them.
Do not sign documents in a hurry. As soon as
possible, review the documents you'll be signing at close of
escrow--including a copy of all loan documents. This way, you can
review them and get your questions answered in a timely manner. Do
not expect to read all the documents during the closing. There is rarely
enough time to do that.
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Not providing your mortgage company
with documents in a timely manner.
When your mortgage company asks you for additional
paperwork--get cracking! They're trying to get you approved! If
you don't quickly respond to your broker's requests, you could end up
paying higher rates should your rate lock expire.
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Not getting a rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company tells you they've locked
your rate, get a written statement detailing the interest rate, the length
of the rate lock, and other particulars about the program.
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Drawing against your home equity credit
line before you refinance your first mortgage.
Many lenders have "cash-out" seasoning
requirements. If you draw against your credit line for anything
other than home improvements, they'll consider your first mortgage
refinance transaction a "cash-out" refinance. This creates
stricter lending requirements and can, in some cases, break your deal!
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Getting a second mortgage before you
refinance your first mortgage.
Many mortgage companies look at the combined loan
amounts (i.e., the sum of the first and second loans) when you are
refinancing only your first loan. If you plan on refinancing your
first loan, check with your mortgage company to see if having a second
loan will cause your refinance to be turned down.
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Not checking to see if your credit line
has a pre-payment penalty clause.
If you are getting a "NO FEE" credit
line, chances are it has a pre-payment penalty clause. This can be
very important (and expensive) if you are planning to sell or refinance
your home in the next three to five years.
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Getting too large a credit line.
When you get too large a credit line, you can be
turned down for other loans. Some lenders calculate your credit line
payments based upon the available credit, even when your credit line has a
zero balance. Having a large credit line indicates a large potential
payment, which makes it difficult to qualify for loans.
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Not understanding the difference
between an equity loan and a credit line.
An equity loan is closed--i.e., you get all your
money up front, then make payments on that fixed loan amount until the
loan is paid. An equity credit line is open--i.e., you can get an
initial advance against the line, then reuse the line as often as you want
during the period the line is open. Most credit lines are accessed
through a checkbook or a credit card. Credit line payments are based
upon the outstanding balance.
Use an equity loan when you need all the money up
front--e.g. home improvements or debt consolidation.
Use a credit line if you have an ongoing need for
money or need the money for a future event--e.g., you need to pay for your
child's college tuition in three years.
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Not checking the lifecap on your equity
line.
Many credit lines have lifecaps of 18%. Be
prepared to make high interest payments if rates move upwards.
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Getting a credit line from your local
bank without shopping around.
Many consumers get their credit line from the bank
with which they have their checking account. Shop around before
deciding to use your bank.
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Not getting a good-faith estimate of
closing costs.
Within three working days after receipt of your
completed loan application, your mortgage company is required to provide
you with a written good-faith estimate of closing costs.
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Assuming that the interest on your home
credit line/loan is tax deductible.
In some instances, the interest on your home
credit line is NOT tax deductible.
It is beyond the scope of this document to provide
tax advice or quote from the IRS code. Contact an accountant or CPA
to determine your particular situation.
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Assuming a home equity line is always
cheaper than a car loan or a credit card.
A credit card at 6.9% can be cheaper than a credit
line at 12%, even after the tax deduction. To compare rates, compare
the effective rate of your credit line with the rate on a credit card or
auto loan.
Effective rate = rate * (1 - tax bracket)
Example: If the rate of the home equity
credit line is 12% and your tax bracket is 30%, your effective rateis12% * (1 - 0.3) = 12% * 0.7 = 8.4%
If your credit card is higher than 8.4%, the
credit line is cheaper.
Besides the interest rate, you may also want to
compare monthly payments and other terms of the loan.
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Getting a home equity credit line if
you plan to refinance your first mortgage in the near future.
Many mortgage companies look at the combined loan
amounts (i.e., the first loan plus the equity line/loan) even though they
are refinancing only the first mortgage. If you plan on refinancing
your first loan, check with your mortgage company to determine if getting
a second line/loan will cause your refinance to be turned down.
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Getting a home
equity credit line to pay off your credit cards if your spending is out of
control!
When you pay off your credit cards with your
credit line, don't put your home on the line by charging large amounts on
your credit cards again! If you can't manage the plastic, get rid of
it!
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